The Client List

I’m so curious to hear what others thought about the new TV show called, “The Client List” with Jennifer Love Hewitt. What I can say, or will say, is that the TV show is different than her movie on Lifetime

About jeninflorida

I love to write and share
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Client List

  1. Barry Davis says:

    I enjoyed the show. It opened an interesting and timely issue. It did disappoint in that it lost its nerve in a couple of places and felt the need to be moralistic. The entire interplay with the Mercedes driver served no purpose. The issue it opened — the continuing comoditization of women — is worth exploring. I liked that it picked up a different part of that issue. We usually see the marketing of women in terms of college girls selling themselves in one way or another to make the money they need to get an education. I had several students who did this. Interestingly, they all seemed to be able to divorce themselves from that activity and move on with their lives. What price they paid internally, if any, I really don’t know. I’ve remained in contact with two of the women. One is finishing up a PhD and looking for a job as a college professor, the other became a PA and is married. None of the ones I got to know well went into this lifestyle as a first choice or happily. It was a last resort. All of them are extraordanarily attractive — which, I suppose, is what made them “sale-able.” I did have one student who, at 19, told me that her goal was to marry a very old, very rich man and give him the best year of his life. She did. He died before the end of the year — and, knowing Liz, she fucked him to death. She swore to me that he died with a smile on his face and he did leave her a lot of money. Then there was Madeleine who graduated with honors from an Ivy League school and then spent the summer after graduation yacht hopping throughout the Mediterranian. I got postcards from her from all over: Greece, Italy, Spain, Morocco. Madeleine finished the yacht hopping in November after her graduation, got a great job with a major computer company in Europe where she prospered.

    In the “Client List” we are confronted by a different problem; a single parent, abandoned by her husband with no way to make a living, support her family and keep it together. She’s a beautiful woman who really has only one asset to sell. Her options are poverty, the loss of her home, the breakup of her family on the one hand, giving “happy ending” massages on the other. It isn’t in me to condemn the decision she makes. What I do condemn is a world that leaves women and children in poverty and desperate for a way to take care of themselves and their families. I don’t personally know any women confronting this situation and finding that she can only solve her severe financial difficulties by selling herself. I know that they exist. I know that their are women living in their cars in underpasses with their children and starving. Which of the women, the one with the “client list” or the one living in her car, is the more “respectable?” I don’t have the arrigance to pretend I can judge.

    A last part of the issues being raised by this show have to do with the actress who plays the lead. One of my neighbors is deeply offended that JLH has “stooped” to taking such a provocative part when she’s always been so pure. As you can see, I live among assholes. She’s an actress and this is a good role and a challenge for her. It’s what she does for a living. I see no moral, ethical or philosophical problem here.

    What do you think about the show, Jen? Could you turn the story line into a piece for a website? It might be fun to try.

    Barry

  2. Roger says:

    As the husband of a massage therapist and co-owner of a massage business, it is not good for the industry. It does plant the wrong idea in the head of the occasional client out there in the real world. Establishments similar to the one in the show do surface on rare occasion, but for the most part, therapists who peddle services in such places more often than not end up in handcuffs, not Corvettes. I wanted to like it, but – the acting was poor. And being too close to the real industry, I can’t really find anything redeeming about it other than Ms. Hewitt’s amply showcased skin.

Leave a Reply

